Virunga Energies provides clean, reliable, and affordable electricity to local communities living in and around Virunga National Park through its run-of-river hydropower plants.

To promote socio-economic development in the region, Virunga Energies plans to supply hydroelectric power to nine towns in North Kivu, home to approximately 3.8 million people. Virunga Energies is a fully integrated company that builds its own power plants and networks, and transmits, distributes, and markets electricity to end consumers.

To carry out its mission, Virunga Energies intends to produce up to 100 MW by 2040. Virunga Energies already has a production capacity of ~30MW and and a new 13 MW hydroelectric powerplant is currently under construction.

  • 20,400 connected households

  • 1,305 enterprises connected

  • Improved water supply for 300,000 inhabitants

  • Free public lighting in 20 villages and towns as well as the city of Goma

  • Construction

    Virunga Energies has built, and operates, 3 hydroelectric power stations: Mutwanga, 1.4 MW, Matebe 13.1 MW and Luviro 14.6 MW.

    Another hydroelectric plant is under construction in Rwanguba not far from Matebe. The total power expected is 26 MW (13 MW for the first phase). Preliminary work has already started and will gradually intensify.

  • Transmission and Distribution

    For the distribution of electricity from its power plants, Virunga Energies has built medium and low voltage lines in Rutshuru, Goma, and Lubero. Virunga Energies is continually developing its electricity network to supply new areas and thus meet the high electricity demand.

  • Marketing

    Virunga Energies sells electricity directly to end consumers via prepayment meters. Sales agents are responsible for finding new customers and supporting them throughout the connection process.

    By the end of 2021, Virunga Energies had supplied electricity to 22,000 customers.

Our Team

Virunga Energies has qualified, young and dynamic staff to carry out its mission. Agents are assigned across various sites of the company in Goma, Beni, and Lubero.

Virunga Energies fournit une électricité propre, fiable et abordable aux communautés locales vivant dans et autour du parc national des Virunga grâce à ses centrales hydroélectriques utilisant la technique dite « au fil de l’eau ».

Afin de promouvoir le développement socio-économique de la région, Virunga Energies prévoit de fournir de l’énergie hydroélectrique à neuf villes du Nord-Kivu, où vivent environ 3,8 millions d’habitants. Virunga Energies est une société complètement intégrée qui construit ses propres centrales et réseaux, transmet, distribue et commercialise l’électricité jusqu’aux consommateurs finaux.

Pour mener à bien sa mission, Virunga Energies entend produire jusqu’à 100 MW d’ici 2040. Virunga Energies a déjà une capacité de production de ~30MW et est en cours de construction d’une nouvelle centrale hydroélectrique de ~13MW. 

  • 20,400 foyers connectés

  • 1,305 entreprises connectées

  • Amélioration de l'approvisionnement en eau pour 300,000 habitants

  • Eclairage public gratuit dans 20 villages et agglomérations ainsi que la ville de Goma

Nos Activités

  • Construction

    Virunga Energies a construit et exploite, à ce jour, 3 centrales hydroélectriques notamment : Mutwanga, 1.4 MW, Matebe 13.1 MW et Luviro 14.6 MW.

    Une autre centrale hydroélectrique est en cours de construction à Rwanguba non loin de Matebe, la puissance totale attendue est de 26 MW (13 MW pour la première phase). Les travaux préliminaires ont déjà commencé et vont s’intensifier progressivement.

  • Transmission & Distribution

    Pour la distribution de l’électricité de ses centrales électriques, Virunga Energies a construit des lignes moyenne et basse tension à Rutshuru, Goma, et Lubero. Virunga Energies développe continuellement son réseau électrique pour alimenter des nouvelles zones et répondre ainsi à la forte demande en électricité.

  • Commercialisation

    Virunga Energies vend directement l’électricité aux consommateurs finaux via des compteurs à prépaiement. Des agents commerciaux se chargent de la recherche des nouveaux clients et les appuient tout au long du processus de raccordement.

    A la fin de l’année 2021, Virunga Energies fournissait de l’électricité à 22 000 clients.

Notre Equipe

Virunga Energies dispose d’un personnel qualifié, jeune et dynamique pour mener à bien sa mission. Les agents sont affectés aux différents sites de la société à Goma, Beni et Lubero.

 

Explorer